How do I erase all photos and videos from iPhone while iCloud Storage is turned on?

I wish to erase all photos and videos from iPhone. When I try to erase I receive a warning saying that all photos will be deleted from iCloud storage. In other words, I wish to erase all photos and videos from iPhone whilst retaining them in iCloud. I have tried to ude the app on my mac which can be used to import til computeren but I was unable to delete after import despite ticking the delete after importing box. There was no red icon to press.


iPhone 4S, iOS 11.2.1
Has invited:

howapple - hello

Favor from:


iCloud Photo Library is a syncing service. Any photo you delete from a device where iCloud Photo Library is turned on will also be deleted from iCloud and from any other device connected to that iCloud Photo Library. You can potentially reduce the storage space required on a device by turning on Optimize Storage. See: iCloud Photo Library - Apple Support

 

Apple does not currently offer cloud-only storage for photos. If that is what you want or need, you may want to explore 3rd party options such as Google Photos or Dropbox.

To reply to a question, please Login or registered