moving vs copying files

Being a packrat and tending to put files on my desktop I resolved to clean things up. First thing I did was assign tags appropriately.

Then, selecting all of the 'blue' files, for instance, I dragged them to a new folder. About 40G of data.

Finder about choked, reported it was copying, not moving. Can anyone explain what Finder is doing when i move a file or a wad of folders? Is it copying or changing directory entries or what? How to account for the very long time it wants to copy files?

Has invited:

howapple - hello

Favor from:

By default, Finder should move files within your user account, or to any other location on the same volume to which you have the same level of access. It will copy the files if:

1. They are locked, or otherwise read-only.

2. You are moving them to another volume.

To reply to a question, please Login or registered